Partials by Dan Wells

Standard

My Thoughts: I adored this book, even recommended it to a few of my friends too. There were a lot of reviews for this book, the majority were good and a few were not so good. However I am definitely with the majority on this one, Partials is fantastic and I’ve now read the whole sequence. It’s a book that has won a place on my small imaginary bookshelf (a place of honour for when I can actually afford a house for said bookshelf).

Loved Samm and Kira our two main protagonists, oh I could gush over Samm totally. There is a love triangle (so sick of them) but this one isn’t as awkward or pathetic as they have been in other novels *cough* Twilight *cough*. Kira is totally bad ass, yes strong female heroine halleluiah! When I read about Kira and her ‘I can do anything’ attitude I was over the moon. She is exactly the type of girl I would want to be and a good role model for females in general. She’s strong yet not emotionless, has a very mind over matter approach, and is not afraid to deviate from the norm. Oh how I wish more people were like that today.

Boy’s don’t turn up your noses just yet (I realize I am being stereotypical here), I should have mentioned the military references throughout this book, the scientific aspects and dialogue, and the totally amazing prowess of the Partials themselves. As much as the book is a slow builder there is a lot of good quality action too. This is a great book for both genders!

The characters and setting are very realistic for this post-apocalyptic world. In a stressful, dangerous and hostile environment people will seek familiar places even if they’re not necessarily the safest, teenagers will know more and be actively involved in their world’s politics than the average teenager is today, people will be desperate and willing to try anything to find solutions, human rights would go completely out of the window! Dan Well’s writes and builds the Partial’s world extremely well! (Haha Dan Well’s writes well.)

Read this book, I know I haven’t gone into massive amounts of detail but you don’t want spoilers. I give this book two thumbs up, I’d give it more if I had more thumbs, so I’ll just have to put my fingers up and raise my hands in the air and jump up and down, and perhaps scream or something, I don’t know just read this book!


From the current reviews:

The Good: ‘Amazing novel’, ‘awesome author’, ‘witty, spicy dialogue,’ ‘thy heroine be neither ninny nor copy cat’, thou art a great crossover book for boys’, ‘thou makest science fiction easy and fun,’ ‘chock full of mystery, suspense, action and a tinge of romance’, ‘Dan Well’s writing is excellent’, ‘very realistic and interesting post-apocalyptic world,’ ‘wow’, ‘I wasn’t expecting to be knocked on my ass at how awesome this book was, but in the end, I was’, ‘masterful cliffhanger’, ‘loved this book’, ‘a delight to read this refreshingly original novel’, ‘Dan Wells spins a yarn so filled with detail; you can picture it in your mind’, ‘ a gem‘, ‘I was rarely able to guess what was happening next and that is just about the best compliment I can give a book.’, ‘one of the best‘, ‘hope for the dystopian genre is revived!’, ‘Partials took me on an unexpected, and at times gasp-worthy and breathtaking, post-apocalyptic thrill ride.’, ‘It’s both heart wrenching and heartwarming‘, ‘You’ll get immersed in such a rich world, and find yourself desperately flipping pages just to find out what’s coming next‘, ‘The setting for the book was described beautifully‘, ‘blew away all of my expectations‘, ‘really unpredictable‘, ‘original’, ‘Engrossing and intense‘, ‘interesting and diverse characters’, ‘well-plotted medical thriller‘, ‘This book had me glued and fascinated‘, ‘most surprising book I’ve read in a long time‘, ‘fast paced read with an engaging heroine’, ‘The world building was simply amazing‘, ‘like a movie inside a book’…. [Sooooo many reviews, god people really loved this book!]

The Bad: The characters and the world were poorly developed and many  creative minds have done this better, ‘boring’, ‘badly written’, ‘ridiculous plot twists’, ‘wasn’t bad it just never drew me in‘, ‘too slow’, ‘nothing interesting happened‘, ‘disappointing’, ‘Bad characters, predictable plot, and an unimaginative world‘, ‘immature dialogue‘, ‘Too much language‘, ‘unbelievable and predictable’, ‘Overall Partials was ok, interesting at times even, but too much fell short for me to say I really liked it‘, ‘Really, it just made me want to go replay Fallout so I could get a true post-apocalypse story‘, ‘mediocre book.’

The DRU’s: Save yourself some heartache and skip this book. If you really need to read about plague survivors, pick up Stephen King’s ‘The Stand’ instead. If you want to read about almost-human clones, grab a copy of ‘Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep?’ Those are classics for a reason, and ‘Partials’ doesn’t come anywhere near these two.

The Unicorns: ‘This book took my breath away!’, ‘OHEMGEE, MUST SLEEP WITH THIS BOOK AT NIGHT SO NO ONE STEALS IT!’,  ‘Partials is SUCH an engaging novel. This futuristic world is well explored and feels believable, with a ton of adrenaline-pumping action and twists I didn’t see coming.’

This book has been compared/likened to: Divergent by Veronica Roth, The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey


UK Kindle Amazon Rating: 4.3 stars (4.3 Stars)

Goodreads Rating: 3. 95 stars(3.95 Stars)


Release date:  February 28th 2012

Pages: 468-482

Age Range:  15+

Contains: Moderate language, extreme rules and regulations befitting a dystopian society, and descriptions of moderate violence.

Genres: Young Adult, Science fiction, dystopian, fantasy.


About the book: For fans of The Hunger Games, Battlestar Galactica, and Blade Runner comes the first book in the Partials Sequence, a fast-paced, action-packed, and riveting sci-fi teen series, by acclaimed author Dan Wells.

Humanity is all but extinguished after a war with Partials—engineered organic beings identical to humans—has decimated the population. Reduced to only tens of thousands by a weaponized virus to which only a fraction of humanity is immune, the survivors in North America have huddled together on Long Island. But sixteen-year-old Kira is determined to find a solution. As she tries desperately to save what is left of her race, she discovers that that the survival of both humans and Partials rests in her attempts to answer questions about the war’s origin that she never knew to ask.

Playing on our curiosity of and fascination with the complete collapse of civilization, Partials is, at its heart, a story of survival, one that explores the individual narratives and complex relationships of those left behind, both humans and Partials alike—and of the way in which the concept of what is right and wrong in this world is greatly dependent on one’s own point of view.


Where to Buy?

Amazon Kindle Ed: £0.99, Paperback (new) £7.99 http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/000746522X

Note: There are other places to buy this book so hit the shopping button on Google, but cannot validate personally for the trustworthiness of these other sites.


About the Author:

Dan Wells is a thriller and science fiction writer. Born in Utah, he spent his early years reading and writing. He is he author of the Partials series (Partials, Isolation, Fragments, and Ruins), the John Cleaver series (I Am Not a Serial Killer, Mr. Monster, and I Don’t Want To Kill You), and a few others (The Hollow City, A Night of Blacker Darkness, etc). He was a Campbell nomine for best new writer, and has won a Hugo award for his work on the podcast Writing Excuses; the podcast is also a multiple winner of the Parsec Award.

Author’s Websites:

http://www.thedanwells.com/

https://www.facebook.com/TheDanWells

https://twitter.com/TheDanWells


Disclaimer: The reviews and opinions above are either from online sources or my own, and have been collaborated together for the ease and benefit of potential new readers. All ratings have been collected from the date of this blog’s publishing, and will potentially change in the future.

One thought on “Partials by Dan Wells

Leave a Reply

