Warm Bodies by Isaac Marion

Standard

My Thoughts:

I LOVED this book. I truly, honestly, loved this book. It’s taken me a while to write this particular blog because I cannot adequately explain the awesomeness of this story, but… I’m going to give it my best shot.

Right, well, let’s start with what I think ‘Warm Bodies’ is really about. It’s a clever story which takes real problems from the world today, turns them on their heads, and combines them into a twisted, zombie, love story, with references to William Shakespeare’s Romeo & Juliet. You have the main male character ‘R’ based on Romeo and the main female character ‘Julie’ based on Juliet. However, if you’re not a Shakespeare fan and can remember the long stuffy English lessons, reading words from old English that nobody but the teacher could understand, don’t panic. Warm Bodies may contain some Romeo & Juliet themes but it differs from Shakespeare’s work in every way apart from it’s utter brilliance…

Warm Bodies was right up my street, I can be quite sarcastic from time to time, so the little, eloquent digs at society dotted throughout the story made me grin with glee. I really felt like this story was more than just a fun story to read and put back on the shelf (in fact I’ve read this story three times now). I felt like Isaac Marion was really trying to open up his readers’ eyes to the world we live in today. I may be completely off the mark here, but that is how this story made me feel. I found myself nodding and agreeing with every subtle phrase, and occasionally almost aghast. Warm Bodies isn’t just about how the world became overrun by zombies, it’s about showing how we already are zombies in the world we live in today, even if we don’t realize it yet.

Oh man! This story is so so so so clever. Yeah sure, you have zombies that eat brains, you have some gruesome details, and the main hero is a decaying corpse, but what do you expect from a zombie story? What makes this story so special in my opinion, is that not only is it a story that you can read lightheartedly for pure entertainment, it is also a story that you can analyze and sink your teeth in to. You can scrutinize this story and every page, and you can find clever descriptions, metaphors, analogies, you name it. There is so much interpretation you can do with this book and everyone will have slightly different views, but also you don’t have to, you can just read the story and be charmed and amazed by R, the most likeable zombie in the whole world.

The love story is sweet, and not in a ‘oh dear lord where’s the sick bucket kind of way’. It’s sweet because Julie is a tough heroine and she is not afraid to accept change and dream of a better world. She accepts R, and fuels his determination to become different to what he is. Julie’s open mindfulness is so refreshing it really highlights how appallingly close minded the real world has become. The love element in warm bodies is not just about a relationship between two people, it’s also about learning to accept everyone, no matter how different or strange or even dangerous they may seem. It’s also about learning to forgive and to move on. (Gah) So many emotions, and too little time. Warm bodies is brilliant in showing the complicated and realistic world of families, friendships, trust and love.

Warm bodies is perfect for literary experts and non literary experts alike. As for age range, well my own age ratings are only my personal guide. I think teenagers all the way through to grandparents will enjoy this book, particularly teenagers who are mature for their age. All I can simply say is read this book, it may be the best book you will ever read in your life.

And to Isaac Marion, thank you for such an incredible addition to the literary world (and to my bookshelf), please write more.


From The Current Reviews:

The Good:Words cannot explain how much I loved R and his voice’, ‘It is well-written, poignant, funny, and memorable.’, ‘I fell in love with a zombie’, ‘original plot’, ‘amazing’, ‘poetic writing style’, ‘This book was a chock-full of surprises‘, ‘Warm Bodies is one of those short novels that will leave you smiling hours after finishing it. Sweet. Surreal. Sensational.’, ‘a great plot, cute zombie, funny moments, incredible romance…well it has everything!’, ‘fantastic’, ‘I was expecting four stars, max, but this went beyond just a zombie book. This was…art‘, ‘It’s one of those books that you read and hate yourself for not thinking of the plot first. It’s absolutely genius, IMO.’, ‘I loved this book, truly, madly, deeply. Warm Bodies is one of the most surprising zombie novels I’ve ever read‘, ‘ one of the best books i have ever read’, ‘an absolutely stunning zombie novel that mixes creature horror with human emotion seamlessly‘, ‘This is a beautiful poetic story about love, renewal, and unending hope‘, ‘a refreshing take on the zombie story‘, ‘a quirky, entertaining read‘, ‘very detailed and very descriptive in setting, in expressing and in showing‘, ‘a terrific book’, ‘a heartwarming story’, ‘superb characters’, ‘a gem’, ‘fascinating’, ‘very well thought out book‘, ‘Warm Bodies is a poignant story about life. One that would make you question which side are you standing now and which side do you want to stay.‘, ‘awesome and touching novel’, ‘A Mixture of Eloquence and Cave-Man, Brains and Pad-Thai‘, ‘incredible writing, unique setting, love-able characters, hilarious dialogue, fantastic romance, action and story-line‘, ‘a magnificent surprise‘, ‘captivating’, ‘creative’, ‘impressive’, ‘I devoured this book’. (Jeez, come on guys, stop writing so many five/four star reviews! Unfortunately I can’t spend the rest of my life going through the comments from just one incredible book! -C.L)

The Bad: ‘riddled with plot holes’, ‘The writing was clunky. There was very little to the plot, and with nothing happening I found myself growing so, so bored‘, ‘None of the characters are interesting‘, ‘ridiculous’, ‘really slooooow and most of it is an endless monologue inside R’s head which I found really tiring‘, ‘the driving plot line was predictable and poorly put together’, ‘ultimately this book’s downfall was that it took itself too seriously‘, ‘illogical world building’, ‘This was just not a good read for me‘, ‘I appreciated the originality, but it just didn’t click for me‘, ‘It was depressing and weird‘, ‘cliché characters’, ‘fails to work on so many levels’, ‘stilted and cardboard‘, ‘I just could not take it this book seriously‘, ‘Started, was too weird and disturbing to finish‘, ‘Too much language but good storyline‘, ‘the ending was very anti-climatic’, ‘story wise, I didn’t like it at all, the zombie culture and stuff’.

The Darn Right Ugly:Failed zombie book, failed romance story. A disappointing finish for me, sad to say‘, ‘I can’t believe I actually managed to finish it, as many times as it incited me to rage‘.

The Unicorns:You’ve been looking for a book where you finish it with a smile on your face, haven’t you? I know it. Well, this is it.‘, ‘You know that time after you read a really spectacular book when you’re just sitting around, thinking about how wonderful it was and going over passages you loved? I think I’ve been doing that for two weeks now.‘, ‘HOLY. MOTHER. OF. ALL. THAT. IS. GORGEOUS. Could any amount of my insignificant words fully encompass the greatness of this book?’, ‘CHRIST ALMIGHTY, HOW IS IT THAT THIS BOOK ISN’T REQUIRED READING FOR EVERYONE IN THE HUMAN RACE? I am not being hyperbolic here: this is the sort of book that can literally CHANGE YOUR LIFE‘, ‘This book is so amazing and brilliant, I feel breathless after finishing it.

This Book Has Been Compared/Likened To: The Forest of Hands and Teeth by Carrie Ryan.


Amazon Kindle Rating: 4.5 Stars (4.5 Stars)

Goodreads Rating: 4.02 Stars (4 Stars)


Release date: 28th October 2010

Pages: 240

Age Range: 16+ (a younger person could read this book but they may be confused by the writing style and vocabulary).

Contains: Swearing, mild descriptions of violence and death, references and descriptions of sexual relationships.

Genre: Paranormal romance, Black comedy, Gothic fiction.

Awards: (I don’t know if there are any, but this book should have definitely won some awards! -C.L.)


About The Book: ‘R’ is a zombie. He has no name, no memories and no pulse, but he has dreams. He is a little different from his fellow Dead.

Amongst the ruins of an abandoned city, R meets a girl. Her name is Julie and she is the opposite of everything he knows – warm and bright and very much alive, she is a blast of colour in a dreary grey landscape. For reasons he can’t understand, R chooses to save Julie instead of eating her, and a tense yet strangely tender relationship begins.

This has never happened before. It breaks the rules and defies logic, but R is no longer content with life in the grave. He wants to breathe again, he wants to live, and Julie wants to help him. But their grim, rotting world won’t be changed without a fight…


Where to Buy?

Amazon Kindle Ed: £5.22, Amazon Paperback: £5.99.

Waterstones paperback: £5.99


About the Author: (As written by Isaac Marion) Isaac Marion is a young hermit living in Seattle with his beard and his cat, starving, hysterical, naked. His first novel, WARM BODIES, was adapted into a film in 2013. A prequel novella, THE NEW HUNGER, will be released some time in 2015, and he is currently working on an absurdly ambitious concluding volume, which will hopefully be released late 2015 or early 2016. And he will let you in on a little secret: no one wrote this bio about him. He is writing it in third person, pretending to be some raving publicist or besotted fan for some reason of ancient and baffling literary convention. He is me. Hello, I’m Isaac, hello.

Author’s websites:

http://www.isaacmarion.com/

https://twitter.com/isaacinspace

https://www.facebook.com/isaacmarionauthor


Disclaimer: The reviews and opinions above are either from online sources or my own, and have been collaborated together for the ease and benefit of potential new readers. All ratings have been collected from the date of this blog’s publishing and will potentially change in the future.

Leave a Reply

