The Snow Globe by Kristin Harmel

Standard

My Thoughts:

Firstly, this is a short novella, a sort of prequel I believe to the main story called ‘The Sweetness of Forgetting’. So guys, if you read this free short story and enjoy it, you will need to go and buy the main story afterwards!

On to my thoughts….

I decided, since it is December, that I needed to find some Christmas related books. However, I wasn’t expecting something like this. If you’re looking for a tragic romance then this is the book for you. Oh my god I was crying like a baby by the end of these 16 pages! I have no idea how the author managed to do it, but there is a hell of a lot of emotion and feeling crammed into this short story. It was beautiful, meaningful and thought-provoking, but you don’t need me to tell you that, just look at all of the reviews below! The Snow Globe is well written and short, perfect for those who just don’t have the time to read longer novels.

A couple of points, this story is set during WW2 and the main characters are Jewish. The brutal reality of this story is shocking, but on saying that the romance is incredibly sweet and comforting. I now need to get my hands on The Sweetness of Forgetting, but since this short story had me in tears I’m not entirely sure I will be able to handle the novel.

Well done Kristin Harmel, you’ve made it to my authors to watch out for list.


From The Current Reviews:

The Good: ‘So much beauty in a small number of pages’, ‘it is stunning’, ‘Sweet little story’, ‘I really enjoyed this short story and will buy more from this author’, ‘A love story that tugs at the heart strings and brings a tear to the eye’, ‘I enjoy WW2 stories, although this one is short it did grab my attention from the beginning.’, ‘Beautifully written, gave me a lump in my throat’, ‘A lovely short story that has you wanting more.‘, ‘thought provoking‘, ‘A sweet reminder of the power of hope which we all forget to easily in our busy lives. Enjoy and ponder.’, ‘a romantic, festive tale of how hope can survive in, and sustain us through, horrible times.‘, ‘A small romance set in dire times‘, ‘a short lovely but sad love story with Christmas feeling‘, ‘A lovely seasonal short story with believable characters‘, ‘Just wish it was a bit longer.‘, ‘This a story with a substance and a truth about it‘, ‘A bittersweet little Christmas story, beautifully written‘, ‘fairly interesting and well written’.

The Bad: ‘If I’m being totally honest with you here I didn’t get it. I got the meaning of it, but I don’t think I saw the point of it.’, ‘It is very sweet and beautiful, but too sad‘, ‘The story was finished before it started! Very short and disappointing.

The Darn Right Ugly: Awful story, wasn’t impressed and quit half way through. Won’t be a keeper to read again.‘, ‘This story was too short and I was just getting into the story when it leaves you without an ending.’

The Unicorns:The author writes so well you feel the love and hope surrounding the characters.‘, ‘ It’s beautifully written, heartfelt and meaningful. I can’t recommend this story enough.‘, ‘This was lovely and left me wanting to read more.

This Book Has Been Compared/Likened To:

The Sweetness of Forgetting by Kristin Harmel.


Release date: 20th December 2012

Pages: 16

Age Range: 13+

Contains: Descriptions and references to mass murder and torture.

Genre: Romance/ Historical Fiction/ Christmas


About The Book: Christmas Eve, 1942, Paris. A boy stands beneath the statue of Liberte in the Jardin du Luxembourg, awash in a flurry of snowflakes, on the eve of his sixteenth birthday. Time is running out – the curfew means he needs to get home, this is a dangerous time to be on the streets. But then he catches sight of a young girl called Rose, and his fate is sealed…

The Snow Globe is a beautiful Christmas short story to complement the wonderful novel The Sweetness of Forgetting, coming from Quercus in March 2013.


Amazon Kindle Rating: 3. 99stars(3.9 Stars)

Goodreads Rating: 3. 77 stars(3.54 Stars)

Where to Buy? Amazon: Kindle Ed, free.

The Sweetness of Forgetting: Kindle Ed, £4.99. Paperback, £7.99.


About the Author: Kristin Harmel is an international bestselling novelist whose books have been translated into numerous languages and are sold all over the world. After spending many years as a journalist (including more than a decade writing and reporting for People magazine) Kristin now freelances only occasionally, focusing on book tours, book club visits and, of course, writing her next books! THE SWEETNESS OF FORGETTING was a bestseller in many countries and in fact won the reader’s choice prize for Romantic Novel of the Year in Germany in 2013. Her new novel, THE LIFE INTENDED, is out now from Gallery Books, an imprint of Simon & Schuster.

Kristin graduated summa cum laude from the University of Florida’s College of Journalism and Communications. She has lived in Paris, Los Angeles, New York, Boston and Miami and now resides in Orlando, Fla., with her husband, Jason.

Author’s Websites:

http://kristinharmel.com/

https://twitter.com/kristinharmel

 


Disclaimer: The reviews and opinions above are either from online sources or my own, and have been collaborated together for the ease and benefit of potential new readers. All ratings have been collected from the date of this blog’s publishing and will potentially change in the future.

Leave a Reply

