My Top 5 Books from 2015.

Standard

Yes I know I’m late but…. Happy New Year everybody and I hope you had a great festive period back in 2015 (all about 2 and a half weeks ago).

I keep a record on my computer of all the books I have ever read, and when consulting said list, I found that between the 1st of Jan 2015 to the 31st of Dec 2015, I have read a total of 47 books!

These 47 books come from a variety of authors and genres including; Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green & David Levithan,  Game of Thrones books 1-4 by George R. R. Martin, Brightwill by Randolph Lalonde, The Girl In Between by Laekan Zea Kemp, and many others!

So, I’ve decided to tell you what my top five books from 2015 were, so that you can go and enjoy them for yourselves!

In at number 5….

A Force for good

Yes I can hear the groans already! Ok, so reading about the current Dalai Lama isn’t to everyone’s taste, and that is exactly why I had to put this book at number 5. However, not only did this book open my eyes, but it moved me so greatly, I wrote a huge lengthy blog about it which you can find by clicking here. I don’t read a lot of non-fiction, but this book is incredible and the 14th Dalai Lama is truly inspirational. Daniel Goleman covers the Dalai Lama’s views on science, politics and life, in an easy and fun way. There is no preaching, no religion, this book is about a man with a lot of logic and common sense.

Number 4….

DARK-ARTS-2015-COVER-2

A more mature read for sure, but nonetheless intriguing. Randolph Lalonde’s Dark Arts can be described as a fictional horror (though I would call it a thriller), set within Canada and parts of the US. This story follows Maxwell, the lead guitarist of the band ‘Road Craft’, as he makes his way back to his hometown Sudbury. In this story Maxwell is forced to come to terms with his late father’s obsession, and join an occult he has tried to avoid his entire life. If music, spirits, ghosts, and magic are your thing, then Dark Arts will not disappoint. Full blog here.

Number 3….

Wild Born

Moving on but keeping the themes of unusual and slightly sinister, Wild-Born sits at my number 3. Man I could not put this book down! I was up til 3 o’clock in the morning, completely hooked to this story. Written from the pov of a young teenager, Adrian Howell (also the author’s pen name), Wild- Born is a refreshing read, plunging you into a dangerous and fictional world. The main characters are children with special powers, and you are told their story, but do not be fooled, this book is definitely a mature read. Click here for the full blog.

Number 2….

will-grayson-will-grayson-cover

Sadly, I haven’t written a full length blog about this book yet, but, this book is hilarious. John Green tells another renowned and entertaining, coming-of-age story, with co-author David Levithan, in Will Grayson, Will Grayson. Here you meet two teenagers with the same name ‘Will Grayson’, yet despite crossing paths, they lead completely different lives. Find out all the trials and tribulations that these two face, as they try and navigate the complicated teenage world, and more importantly, how both of their lives ultimately come together.

And finally my Number 1….

The Girl In Between

I’ve said it before and I shall say it again, I think this book is amazing! Another slightly more mature read as this book deals with medical disorders. However, I absolutely devoured this book in twenty four hours. It is beautifully written, with both humorous and heart breaking moments. In this book you will enter the dream world with Bryn Reyes, a real-life sleeping beauty, however her dreams are more real than she has ever realized, and a mysterious boy appears out of nowhere. Will she be awake long enough to find him in the real world in time? Check out the full blog here.

So that’s my top five for 2015, I seriously recommend that you go out and buy/download these books as soon as possible. If you’ve read any of these books, I want to know your thoughts, and also, which books rocked your year of 2015? Do you agree with my list? Or do your favorite books deserve a spot? Leave your comments below!

 

12227698_921081571272866_1901039829149236455_n

 

My News

Anomaly is due to be released on the 28th January 2016 in both ebook and paperback form.

Pre-order the paperback of Anomaly at Waterstones here.

Find out more here or visit my website here.

Also, join the community at the new Anomaly science page on Facebook, click here.

 

 


Please Note: The books from this blog were not released during the year 2015, it was just when I personally got around to reading them. The Top 5 list has been made from my personal preferences and does not in any way relate to the popularity or sales of the books in question. The reviews and opinions above are either from online sources or my own, and have been collaborated together for the ease and benefit of potential new readers. Thank you for reading.

Leave a Reply

